Testimonials

“There is a real need for many companies to get a structured approach to IP strategy. That’s exactly what Patentopolis course on IP strategy offers”

Ramsvik Trond, Partner, European Patent Attorney, Onsagers AS (Norway)
10 August 2017

“Patentopolis course on IP strategy was up to my expectations and as defined during the first hour of the course. The DIPS® matrix and methodology is a very powerful toolkit, which helps to visualize how to capture value and where to invest budget and resources in areas which are relevant to the company. At the same time, it is a simple tool which can be practically implemented in my company and is effective for conveying relevant IAM aspects to managers. I very much enjoyed the course and particularly its hands-on exercise approach. Thanks to the course, I have now a more realistic view of what IP strategy is.”

Eugenio Souto Pampín, European Patent Attorney, IMEC (Belgium)
17 July 2017

“Many clients ask for IP strategy today, or should ask for IP strategy. However, strategic IP planning is not for all IP attorneys; it needs a mindset beyond legal which is not part of the usual education of IP attorneys. I experienced Patentopolis tools such as their matrix approach and their methodology to design IP strategy (DIPS). I found these tools to be an interesting way to gain insight into the business strategy from an IP point of view, and into the IP strategy from a business point of view. I believe that these tools are helpful to understand a client’s business, map their portfolio with their products, and create a shared vision for future IP investments to bring their IP strategy in line with their business strategy. What I found particularly noteworthy is that this strategy aims at tomorrow’s value rather than only today’s costs – a view that every decision taker ought to take with respect to IP.”
This testimonial reflects personal views and not necessarily views of Hoffman Eitle.

Volker Tillmann, German and European Patent Attorney, Partner at Hoffmann Eitle (Germany)
3 March 2017

“We at Boco IP look at our role as a strategic partner for our customers in increasing their competitive strength and safeguarding their unique know-how. Our IPR 360® concept is designed to help companies in integrating IP rights with their core functions, and our IP strategy services are often at vanguard in this.

Our co-operation with Patentopolis goes back years. I first attended a Patentopolis seminar back in 2012 to learn their methodology DIPS with its unique structured planning workflow. We also organized a Patentopolis DIPS event at our office a while ago for our clients, which was well received.

Subsequently, I joined the Patentopolis DIPS Online beta project. As DIPS Online became available, I then joined in with the DIPS certification process.

With DIPS certification, I was supported by Patentopolis team to reapply the methodology and platform DIPS Online together with one of our clients. It has been a great tool and experience to take a step back, better understand their business and goals, and design a shared plan to protect their innovative edge over the competition. It will also help us strengthen long-term relationship with periodic reviews. We are now creating a team of consultants dedicated to IP strategy, trained and certified by Patentopolis.”

Petri Nieminen, Partner and Consulting Director, BocoIP Oy Ab (Finland)
2 March 2017

“IP landscapes are of particular interest for TNO when focusing at new innovations. They are of key importance for us and our industrial partners, in terms of freedom to operate and new patent filing. Furthermore, they enable screening both competitors in different markets and all possible angles of scientific and technological approaches for the envisioned innovation. What we largely appreciated with Patentopolis team is their very practical approach with open discussions during the preparation of the IP landscape. Analyzing both a broad area and a focused application field was challenging, but Patentopolis has been of great support to help us thanks to their process. “

Dr. ir. Bart Erich, Scientist/Innovator, TNO
15 February 2017

“I attended the event Dissemination & Exploitation under H2020 jointly organized by Europa Media and Patentopolis on 14 October 2016. Patentopolis matrix and methodology DIPS are good tools for non-IP professionals. These guided workflows help EU project partners to understand how to cooperate with each other, and see quickly where/how to look for win-wins but also gives and takes. These tools should be applied roughly when preparing the call to strengthen it and get better evaluation; the same tools should be reapplied more thoroughly once the project is granted, both at the beginning to set up the plan and directions and throughout the project to monitor implementation and measure real impact.”

Margareta B Lindgren, Grants office, Luleå University of Technology (Sweden)
15 February 2017

“What I liked the most from this 2.5-day course on IP strategy is the methodology DIPS for strategy making since it is very practical. This Patentopolis methodology gives a path to follow where to start, as well as how to analyse data and interact with other functions during the planning phase and after.”

Reino Savela, IP counsel, ABB AB
10 January 2017

“IP strategy is essential for business success, and I don’t want to rely on just gut feeling or hope as a strategy. Therefore, it makes sense to follow an effective methodology like DIPS of Patentopolis, since this is a well-structured, clear and logical approach. Highly recommended!”

Dr. Markus Glänzel, Director IP Management, Evonik Nutrition & Care (Germany)
10 January 2017

“This 2.5-day course on IP strategy is an important milestone for me and my company. The tools provided during this extensive course will allow me to apply the methodology DIPS of Patentopolis in IP strategy project for my company. I will recommend this course mainly to IP managers having limited IP experience with strategy-making. It gives a lot of materials on the methodology DIPS and also an opportunity for data crunching, which is exactly what I was looking for.”

Rimma Pugatsch Shendelzon, IP Manager, Landa Corporation (Israel)
9 January 2017

“Together with my colleague, we both attended last month’s two strategy seminars (4 days in total): DIPS (Design IP Strategy) and I2PS (Implement IP Strategy). During DIPS, I have found that Patentopolis tools (the matrix and the 5-step methodology) were particularly useful for analysing and actually making an IP strategy at different levels of the organization. During I2PS, the most useful was to revisit the 5-steps in order to help us bring product strategies together in one corporate strategy. I also really appreciated the last day fully dedicated to change management since it helped us (my colleague and I) discuss/review a work situation with a new outlook and tools applicable to our IP practice.”

Barbara Veldhuis, Director IP, Corbion Group (Netherlands)
15 August 2016

“I have attended a Patentopolis seminar on IP strategy organized by Forum Institut on 15-17 March 2016. Preparing an IP plan (case-based) and communicating it (pitch to management) in less than 24 hours was challenging but eventually rewarding. The business simulation was highly engaging and brought a different learning experience on soft skills (project, team, decision-making, change) other than analytical skills gained during the seminar. Most skills can be used beyond IP strategy design and implementation.”

Jarred Twigg, Intellectual Property Manager, Breville (Australia)
6 April 2016

“I recommend this seminar especially because it is very practical. I found that Patentopolis 5-step methodology is particularly useful for designing new IP plans. The seminar is of a high tempo but yet effective, also thanks to the Patentopolis speakers who managed to transfer such knowledge and skills to me.”

Paul Schalz, Innovation and IP Manager, Paul Wurth SA (Luxemburg)
30 March 2016

“I have attended a Patentopolis seminar on IP strategy organized by Forum Institut on 15-17 March 2016. In particular, I found that Patentopolis model using a matrix approach to link business, market and innovation/IP was particularly useful for seeking alignment, analysing others’ strategies and designing new ones. The course is interactive, high tempo and efficient regardless of the prior experience or background regarding strategic IP management.”

Eugene van Nieuland, Director – IP Licensing, One-Red (Netherlands)
25 March 2016

“I have attended a Patentopolis seminar on IP strategy organized by Forum Institut on 15-17March 2016. Patentopolis 5-step methodology is a good tool for performing IP strategy analysis. It is useful for giving advice to clients.”

Mona Karlsson, European Patent Attorney, Awapatent (Sweden)
24 March 2016

“By participating to the 2-day seminar Design IP Strategy early September 2015, I learned a different way of structuring and analyzing the data needed to make strategic plans for efficiently managing intellectual assets. As a patent attorney working with many companies in different phases of their lifecycle, bringing this kind of strategic thinking to the business will add value for many of them. The simple format of a matrix and a 5-step methodology gives me a systematic way to prepare the plan from scratch. It also makes it easy to update the plan during the subsequent growth phases of the company. This intensive course with participants from different backgrounds (industry- and country-wise) gave the opportunity to share views and experience during the interactive lectures and diverse teamwork assignments (cases, peer reviews).”

Anna Pohjala, Partner, Leitzinger Oy (Finland)
18 September 2015

In December 2014 I participated in a very active Patentopolis training session (“5 steps to a patent”), which demonstrated how an IP expert can play a crucial role in the development of inventions by teams at R & D departments. This Patentopolis methodology shows the importance of considering patents and other IP rights as constraints in the innovation process. Countries such as Portugal, where the innovation culture at companies still insufficiently incorporates an IP culture and the practice of patent filings as a routine, would benefit from a regular intervention of IP consultants equipped with a customizable, interactive IP toolbox like Patentopolis tools.

João Marcelino, Portuguese patent office (INPI)
15 December 2014

“We have hosted a 1-day event delivered by Patentopolis BV in the context of IPorta among representatives of European patent offices. We found that the workshop was excellent especially since it gave us a unique opportunity to experience a different IP perspective from a business’ view.” IPorta project is co-funded by European Commission.

Dr. Paraskevi Gaganatsou, Head, Greek patent office (OBI)
17 November 2014

“We have organized a 1-day event with Patentopolis BV in the context of IPorta among representatives of European patent offices. The event was a unique and valuable experience for our colleagues. I am convinced that Patentopolis business simulation has fostered the capability of all participants to eventually change the perspective towards an SME, and the understanding of their needs and demands in our everyday work and beyond.” IPorta project is co-funded by European Commission.

Roger Hildebrandt, Referent, German patent office (DPMA)
17 November 2014

“We have organized a 1-day Patentopolis event for 30 participants from various functions including senior management. The IP business simulation was perceived as very professional and dynamic with a quick learning curve. It has given a great understanding that IP plays a crucial value in decision-making at all levels within our organization; it has also been an excellent opportunity to meet and connect in an open, energizing and stimulating way. The event has created a solid base for further integration of the new IP culture into our company. I am convinced by the power of Patentopolis business simulation for creating fast learning and awareness on IP with diverse and senior leadership groups.”

Edith Hermans, Group Director Intellectual Property, Tessenderlo Group (Belgium)
13 March 2013

“We have received throughout positive feedback from all participants. Patentopolis simulation is an ideal tool to generate awareness for IP matters. It is also a unique opportunity to follow (risk-free!) whether and how the strategies applied by the different teams work out. A big thanks to the Patentopolis team to adapting their tools and models to the needs of our organization. We’re looking forward to our next simulation session!”

Dr. Bernd Hutter, Director, Head of Intellectual Property, MorphoSys AG (Germany)
28 March 2012

“At the Netherlands Patent Office we use workshops and presentations to raise IP awareness in general. Patentopolis BV offers tools for our prospects and customers to embark the next step. We are confident that the strategic management simulation tool called Patentopolis and their other training solutions offer many possibilities to align IP management with the overall mission and strategy of the organisation/company.”

ir. P. (Peter) H. van Dongen MSc BA, Agentschap NL, Divisie NL Octrooicentrum
19 September 2011

“Enjoyable and competitive; a surprisingly educational mirror of team interaction, negotiation and managerial behaviour in a fun setting”

Wim Mulder, VP Patents Household & Personal Care, Unilever PLC (UK)
3 August 2011

“After attending a pilot session, we were convinced that the Patentopolis program would allow us to teach our internal clients IP strategic concepts in a fun and risk free environment. We were able to customize together with Patentopolis an ST specific IP Business learning tool in a way that will aid our business units with their everyday decisions. The Patentopolis facilitators are extremely good and the feedback was positive.”

Lisa Jorgenson, Group Vice President, IP and Licensing, STMicroelectronics Inc (USA)
13 July 2011

“In close cooperation between Patentopolis and Alpro a customized 1-day workshop was composed, aiming at increasing patent awareness in our company and experiencing the value of a business-aligned patent strategy through use of the Patentopolis simulation tool. Feedback from R&D as well as management was very positive: interesting, highly interactive and great fun.”

Dr. Nico Neirynck, Lead technologist and internal patent adviser, Alpro Soya
18 November 2010

“I was particularly impressed by the professional approach the Patentopolis Team took, when adapting the game to the Bekaert specific IP environment.”

Marc Messely, Group IP Manager, Bekaert Technology Center Zwevegem
6 January 2010

“We thoroughly enjoyed participating in a Patentopolis session and had a great time. It is an excellent tool and we see opportunities for helping our clients better understand the value of IP in general. The Patentopolis team did a great job facilitating it.”

Jordan S. Hatcher, Head of Research, ip Value Added (ipVA)
30 November 2008

“The Patentopolis session was greatly enjoyed by all and prompted quite a lot of discussion around patents afterwards. It was a good way of presenting what is often a very dry subject in an informative and engaging way.”

Dr. Paul L Lowing, Senior Intellectual Property Coordinator, Systagenix
11 November 2008

“We had a very positive response to the Patentopolis sessions, especially to the customized ones. People were energized by it, enthusiastic and participated very well. It worked well in combination with the teaching sessions we had put together, and, all in all, I believe we can call this a success.”

Dr. Luc Vandamme, IP Manager Europe and Asia, Dow Corning
21 October 2008

“The different aspects that are brought together, sales, patents – in short, business sense to IP.” “Amount of discussion/interaction between groups of people of varying backgrounds. It was indeed a learning by doing exercise.”

Shell
27 September 2008